• Bruce Lee Collection
  • Clips Tapes
  • Documentaries
  • Heroic Gunshed
  • Japanese Classics
  • Kung Fu Horror
  • Kung Fu TV Series
  • Miscellaneous
  • New Wave
  • Rare New Wave
  • Rare Traditional
  • Shaw Brothers
  • Special Movies
  • Traditional Films
  • Training Tapes
Actors Biographies and Filmography
Hwang Jang Lee
Hwang Jang Lee was born, 21st December 1944 in a small village on the outskirts of Osaka Japan. He Studdied Taekwondo and boxing while still young. During the seventies, against his parents will he acted as martial arts coach to korean troops stationed in Vietnam. During his tour of duty as a martial arts instructor in Vietnam he was challenged by a south vietnamese knife expert. The challenge was over 30 seconds later. Hwang was the clear winner the opponent lay dead killed by a well executed round kick to the head. In 1976, he was approached in Korea by producer and director Ng See Yuen to play the villainous Silver Fox in "Secret Rivals" along with Wang Tao and John Liu this film is a classic it was the first Bootmaster movie meaning that instead of virtually all punching it was all kicking instead. The film was a surprise hit and the final fight is amazing with all three leads giving their all. Hwang instantly became hot property. The combination between Hwang Jang Lee, John Liu and Wang Tao led to a sequel The Secret Rivals 2 and the stunning Snuff Bottle Connection kungfu classic all made at Seasonal Films. He relocated to Taiwan and in 1978 he appeared in the ground-breaking movies "Snake in the Eagle's Shadow" and "Drunken Master 1", directed by legendary choreographer Yuen Woo Ping and also starring Jackie Chan and Simon Yuen (Yuen Siu Tien). The film rejuvenated Hong Kong cinema's somewhat stagnant kung fu genre and proved a huge box-office success with Drunken Master taking in over 8 million hk dollars which was a lot of money at that time for a kung fu movie, it smashed all box office records even the ones set by Bruce Lee. Numerous lead performances as thugs and heavies followed most notably in Dance of the drunk mantis (1979) (the real followup to the first Drunken Master movie with Yuen Shun Yi taking Jackie Chan's place in the movie with all other cast members remaining on the set. Here Hwang Jang Lee stars as the southern mantis drunkard "Rubberlegs" who is out on a mission to destroy the Northern drunken boxing master Sam the Seed (Simon Yuen) this movie is incredibly good and a must buy if you can find it. He then starred in the amazing Hell'z wind staff (1979) where Hwang got to show of his stunning skill when it comes to staff fighting. Hwang's directorial debut came with "Hitman in the Hand of Buddah" in which he for one of only 3 times stars as the good guy (the 2 other times being in 1982's Five Fingers of Steel and 1986's Innocent Interloper being the last one). It was received well although it was nowhere near the excellent performance he had shown in Drunken Master I and Snake in the eagle's shadow. What's sad is that Hwang Jang Lee only shows his maximum potential in only a few movies mainly the ones he made at Seasonal Films. He also made movies with Sammo Hung in "Where's Officer Tuba" and "Shanghai Express" and naturally he played the bad guy. The last movie Hwang Jang Lee made was Street Warriors (Magnificent Warrior) in 1990. Hwang Jang Lee has now retired from the film industry. He lives in South Korea where he has been running both Golf Tee company and a bodyguard company. But his legacy still lives on with a bunch of really kickass kung fu movies that show's why Hwang Jang Lee is so great. The instant Hwang Jang Lee shows up on the screen you know it's going to be a good fight. He is often credited as Huong Cheng-Li or Wong Cheng Lee in some movies. Hwang is probably the most awesome kicker ever just look at his patented tripple jump kick & bicycle kick and you will see what i mean. Hwang Jang Lee also did a taekwondo instruction film directed and produced by NG See Yuen and Roy Horan and called "The art of high impact kicking". Here Hwang demonstrates over 200 kicks that anyone with a true desire to learn can soon begin to master. Starting with the eight elementary kicks, which when multiplied with the spinning motion of the body form the 16 basic kicks, Hwang then progresses onto forward and rear leg attacks, advancing and retreating motions and the four primary footwork patterns; stepping, sliding, skipping and jumping. For the first time Hwang reveals the little-known concepts of anatomical physics essential for the generation of speed and power, building an in-depth picture of the combinations useful in actual combat situations. Entertaining as well as innovative and informative, "The Art of High-Impact Kicking" is an eye-opener for those who always thought powerful martial arts scenes were all down to wire work and fancy camera angles. So when all is said and done Hwang Jang Lee still reigns supreme as the ultimate bootmaster. Maybe he will return someday but it is highly unlikely Hwang is probably about 56 years old now so there is very little chance of him making a comeback or maybe he will as an old Snake fist master you never now.
Action Director Eagle vs. Silver Fox (1980)

Blood Child (1982)

Producer Hitman in the Hand of Buddha (1981)

Director Hitman in the Hand of Buddha (1981)

Not Again! (1990)

Actor Returned Single-Legged Man 2 (1974)

Returned Single-Legged Man (1974)

Left Foot of Wrath (1974)

Kill the Shogun (1975)

Kill The Ninja (1975)

Canton Viper (1975)

Invitation to Hell (1975)

The Secret Rivals (1976)

Secret Agent (1976)

Black Dragon River (1976)

Bruce Lee's Deadly Kung Fu (1976)

The Secret Rivals, Part II (1977)

The Invincible Armour (1977)

Instant Kung Fu Man (1977)

Hero of the Wild (1977)

Snuff-Bottle Connection (1977)

Drunken Master (1978)

Snake in the Eagle's Shadow (1978)

The Incredible 3 (1978)

The Fearless Duo (1978)

The Dragon and the Tiger Kids (1979)

Dance of the Drunk Mantis (1979)

Demon Strike (1979)

Dragon's Claws (1979)

36 Deadly Styles (1979)

Challenge of the Tiger (1980)

The Buddha Assassinator (1980)

Eagle vs. Silver Fox (1980)

Ring of Death (1980)

Young Hero (1980)

Tiger Over the Wall (1980)

Two Fists Against the Law (1980)

Lackey and the Lady Tiger (1980)

Return of the Deadly Blade (1981)

Hitman in the Hand of Buddha (1981)

Buddhist Fist and Tiger Claws (1981)

The Eagle's Killer (1981)

Hard Bastard (1981)

Tower of Death (1981)

Kid from Kwangtung (1982)

Dragon Claws (1982)

Ninja in the Dragon's Den (1982)

Secret Ninja, Roaring Tiger (1982)

Secret Executioners (1982)

Bruce Strikes Back (1982)

Blood Child (1982)

Martial Monks of Shaolin Temple (1983)

Ghosts Galore (1983)

Angry Young Man (1983)

Shaolin - The Blood Mission (1984)

The First Vampire in China (1986)

Where's Officer Tuba? (1986)

The Innocent Interloper (1986)

The Millionaires' Express (1986)

Angel (1987)

Magnificent Warriors (1987)

No Retreat, No Surrender 2 (1988)

Bed Companion (1988)

Live Hard (1989)

Darkside of Chinatown (1989)